Free NHS tummy-tucks

Back in July my consultant M talked about the option of a diep flap reconstruction. 18 years ago when my Mum developed breast cancer the choices were lumpectomy and a distorted boob or mastectomy and a prosthesis. Today we’re luckier. There are lots of very good reconstruction options including temporary expanders, immediate silicon, latimus dorsi or diep flaps. Diep flap is nothing short of a free NHS tummy-tuck relocating skin, fat and blood supplies from below the navel up the abdomen into the chest to create a nice, 100% natural replacement breast.

I thought exchanging my right breast for a flat stomach was a pretty good deal, even though diep is a long and complex surgery.  I was certain (having been attached to it for a long time) there was enough squidgy flab on my midriff to create an average sized breast. We weren’t talking Dolly Parton after all!   M asked me to stand up so she could take a look and I stood there feeling awkward all the while day-dreaming about my new ‘no diet, no gym’ super flat stomach. Then she dropped another bombshell. “No, I’m afraid you don’t have enough fat to create a new breast” said M.  What? I don’t understand!  I’ve seen that stomach day-in day-out and its cosy layer of fat would look much better shoved up onto my chest.

Scrambling around for a way to change M’s mind, I tried convincing her with the most plausible, medically sound argument I could come up with.  There must be enough fat because my BMI says so. How could she possibly explain my ‘keep off the pies’ rating if I didn’t have enough fat to build an average sized breast? Where the hell IS all this weight if I’m not covered head to toe (but mainly on my stomach) with a thick layer of gloopy fat?

“It’s not fat, its bone mass” she said.  My dreams of the ‘no diet, no gym’ flat stomach were lost forever.

2 thoughts on “Free NHS tummy-tucks

    • Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Sadly no option of a butt boob and in my mind there sure was enough butt at the time to make it happen. I think I could’ve had a 38GG from there instead of half a medium sized orange I’d become use to. Chemo has seen to it that there’s less butt to go around now though so maybe it was all for the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

