Why friendship is the most valuable gift you can give.

I’m lucky enough to have some very dear and special friends. In many ways they’re more like brothers to me… You know the slighty older brother who teases his kid sister about her hair or her fashion sense. Just because he can and because he knows she’ll tease him right back about being older or forgetting his coat.

We’ve known each other a long time, long enough to know that wherever we are or whatever is going on we’re there for each other.  When we get to meet up in person it’s always the same, we pick-up right where we left off as if we’ve never  been apart.  These are the kind of friends you seriously discuss the Higgs Boson with then suddenly find you’re in tears of laughter; someone just slipped a side-splitting bit of banter  into the conversation about something one of us did, said, a habit or trait we each have.

One of my best, more-like-a-brother friends recently told me just because I’m going bald doesn’t mean the jokes will stop. He sent me this:

Magic Lamp
A ginger woman finds a magic lamp and when she rubs it a genie pops out.                      “Ah, hell,” says the genie, “What do you want?”
The ginger says, “I want a huge mansion with a hundred rooms and twenty floors, all made of pure gold.”
The genie looks at her and says, “don’t be an idiot, do you have any idea how much gold that would take? That’s impossible. Pick something else.”
So the ginger says, “I want everyone to stop making fun of my hair colour.”
The genie says “So this mansion, you want en suite bathrooms?”

The thing about really good friends is no matter how many tonnes of crap you find yourself under, they help dig you out, they dust you off and they set you back on your feet again.     Through friendship, my friends give me the most valuable gift.  They make me laugh and laughter, as we all know, is excellent medicine.  I never want the jokes to stop.

Leave a Reply

