Awe inspiring Autumn

I enjoy every season of the year but I’m especially fond of autumn.  A crisp, bright autumn days is a feast for the senses. Trees present a rainbow of colour, leaves carpet the ground in golden splendour and all kinds of berries, haws and hips stud the hedgerows. White-fronted geese begin to arrive from Siberia honking hello’s as they skein through a greying skyline and out here in the countryside the faint smell of wood smoke creeps into the air. I can immerse myself in the sights and sounds of an autumn day and forget just about everything else that’s going on, no matter how difficult or urgent it might be.  As the nights draw in and temperatures drop, I retreat to cosy evenings by the fire, a mug of hot chocolate and a good book.  When I read I’m equally engrossed, living with the characters in their storyline and forgetting about my own.  

Today was one of those bright, crisp autumn days and I made the most of it with my first venture away from home for several months. It wasn’t an action packed day, just a short car journey into Shropshire and an hour or so walking around the ruins of Clun castle.  But it didn’t need to be action packed because the landscape in this area is very beautiful, rolling hills, forests and farmland stretching out as far as the eye can see.  It’s also exceptionally quiet.  The only sounds are natural ones; cawing crows, chattering finches, the occasional wayward sheep.  I found the walk both peaceful and uplifting, food for the soul as well as the senses.  As a creature of simple comforts and I could happily live all my days in autumn if they were just like today.

“These moments of escape are not to be despised. They come too seldom” – Virginia Woolf, The Waves.

2 thoughts on “Awe inspiring Autumn

Leave a Reply

