Thoughts for dear friends

Some of my dearest friends visited me on Friday.  It’s quite a trek – a 5+ hour journey on highways that are busy no matter what time of day.  After the highways there are miles of country roads complete with the challenges of rural driving – poor asphalt, slow tractors, kamikaze pheasants and wayward livestock.  I was so pleased to see my friends, to have the opportunity to spend a few hours with them before they headed home.

As a mark of my appreciation here’s a small poem I’ve written for you – thank you for stopping by guys, it was great to see you and I hope to see you again soon.

With love, hugs and endless wishes that you all have a very good week ahead 🙂

Thoughts For Dear Friends

I was alone, the day was dreary, I saw my thoughts were getting weary,

And then you came, you journeyed far, bringing warmth like the brightest star,

We talked, we laughed, we talked some more, we share a special esprit de corps.

To me my friends you’re very dear and life is good when you are near,

But even when we’re far apart, your friendship lingers in my heart.

I cannot guarantee each day, but in your lives I hope to stay,

Until we’re grey and worn and old, full of stories to be told,

Sharing memories of bygone years, those times together we hold so dear.

To me my friends you light the way, illuminate the darkest days,

I thank you now for all you do and hope someday to repay you,

When you need a friend to shine the way, I’ll be there come night or day.

Thoughts for dear friends

3 thoughts on “Thoughts for dear friends

  1. It’s good to know that you have good friends who stand by you and support you. Such people are irreplaceable and should be loved and cherished at every opportunity. I hope they all read your poem and appreciate how much their friendship and support means. Everything in life is replaceable, except friends and family, human or otherwise!
    Oh! And I love the picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

