Beautiful People

Fuchsias still flowering in the garden despite torrential rain and biting frosts. Beautiful people in my life are like these flowers, they endure for all seasons.

The frustration of yesterday’s colossal admin error has passed so I’m being glad again 🙂

Today I’d like to celebrate and acknowledge the beautiful people in my life.  It may sound strange to say this but I believe I’m incredibly lucky in spite of all the heartache and trauma that dogs my family.  I’m surrounded by extraordinarily beautiful and loyal people, they’re incredibly kind to me and I feel privileged to have them in my life.

My family used to be much larger.  Breast cancer, leukaemia, prostate cancer, aneurysm and heart disease have all taken their toll on our numbers. Stroke had a go at my Aunt not so long ago but she wasn’t putting up with it and we’re all so glad she’s still here.  The small family that remains today is widely distributed throughout the globe –  UK, USA, New Zealand, Switzerland.  Whilst some of us grew very long wings, others developed stubby flight feathers and decided to stay in our UK homeland but we too are somewhat distributed.  In spite of physical distance and the number of differing and conflicting time zones, my family members keep in touch regularly.  They provide so much love, inspiration, comfort and tireless support; they’re truly beautiful people.

I’m lucky enough to have some wonderful friends, many of whom I’ve spoken of in earlier posts.  I’ve known a few for biggest part of my adult life; they’re extended family.  Others are more recent but it feels as if we’ve known each other always such is the warmth of our relationships.  Just like family, my friends are considerate, affectionate and deeply thoughtful.  Some are able to visit in person despite living far away. Others take advantage of today’s technology (thank goodness for Skype, SMS and email).  However we retain contact, it’s always appreciated and it makes a world of difference to me.  Like my family, my friends are beautiful people.

I also have a number of virtual friends.  Of course they’re real people but we haven’t had the opportunity to meet in person. Many are on a similar journey to my own, others simply share interests, humour or philosophies. Often we’re on different continents but the encouragement and support is as real as real can be. These are friends I may never meet but they’re beautiful nonetheless.

Just like the fuchsias flowering into November, withstanding torrential rain and biting frosts that now frequent my garden, my family and friends are here for all seasons.  Come rain or shine, storms and frosts, these beautiful people stay around, keep connected and help make my life a joyous place to live.

So you see in spite of everything being human might throw at me, I’m extremely lucky.  My world is filled with the most amazing, heart-warming, tender, genuine, constant, inspiring, humourous and kindly people I could ever have hoped to encounter. You will know who you are and I hope this small tribute goes some way to tell you how glad I am to know you and how grateful I am for everything you bring to me.

You are all beautiful people, you create an exquisite beauty in my everyday life and that, quite simply, is the biggest gift anyone could ever confer.

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People

  1. ’tis the season again the watch, it’s a wonderful life. one of the best quote from the movie is from the character Clarence, “No man is a failure who has friends”. you’re indeed blessed to have many friends. what you give them, you get back a thousand fold.

    Like

    • I read on your blog that your passion is knowledge, you think about your mistakes, you believe anything is possible and the goodness of a person spreads in all directions. You like to be kind whenever possible because it is always possible if you try…….
      I believe like-minded people have a way of finding each other, wherever they are in the world. There are invisible bonds between us, a connectedness that is both conscious and subconscious drawing us together, underpinning our humanity and making us whole. This, I think, is how you and I have become friends Jo, the goodness spreads in all directions and that’s a wonderful thing 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m glad that you’re glad again. I don’t like it when you’re sad – and it’s not good for you to be mad. So I’m glad that you’re glad, and proud to be your Dad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

