Steroids, sleeplessness and snow, snow, snow

 

Snow crystals 2b

Snow crystals 2b (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s the night before chemo and all through the house, not a creature is stirring… Except steroid-fuelled sleepless little ol’ me. I want to get this one over and done with. It’s the scramble to the summit and its taken what seems like a lifetime but is, of course, just 5 months. Long enough though.

Factors that might impinge on TH3 include the weather. We are obsessed with weather in the UK. We use it as a polite way to converse with people we don’t know terribly well; typically this involves bemoaning low temperatures and rain over the summer months. Occasionally we have the opportunity to remark ‘what a glorious day.’ (We don’t go beyond 24 hour time frames because chances are storms are just around the corner!) Every now and then we get the chance to say “bloody freezing innit” and coupled with that comes the opportunity to panic because we aren’t very accustomed to snow. Snow causes chaos here, our cities grind to a halt, anyone in the countryside can be cut off for weeks and when there’s particularly heavy snowfall our electricity supplies can be affected. On the bright side, snow outside the cities looks beautiful, people take to sledging and lots of fun can ensue.

Tonight, tomorrow and Saturday we’re forecast to have heavy snow. In Britain this is anything upwards of 10cm. The forecast is 10-30cm. It’s not the kind of heavy snow you get in Scandinavia, China or the Rockies but its enough to cripple our transport and utility infrastructure.  I like snow. I like walking in it, seeing it blanketing the fields and encrusting the trees with a myriad of diamond flakes. I don’t enjoy driving in it because someone crashed into me head on a few years ago. Fortunately I was only shaken and bruised but it made me very wary of what can happen when people touch their brakes coming down a hill. We’re surrounded by hills!  So the main challenges to successful completion of TH3 are:

  1. Will the volume of overnight snow prevent me getting to chemo camp – 17 miles away with three 1:5  /1:6 hills to negotiate?
  2. Will chemo camp call me in the morning because the brilliant chemo nurses are unable to get to work?
  3. Will steroids keep me awake until 6am by which point my body will be so exhausted it falls into a Snow White like slumber only to find the handsome prince couldn’t get here because he too has been thwarted by the weather/ate a drugged apple given to him by a suspect-looking crone as ‘sustenance for the journey’?

I sharpened my ice axe and have plenty of crampons at the ready but only time will tell.

English: A train blocked by snowdrifts in Sout...

English: A train blocked by snowdrifts in Southern Minnesota, USA, 1881. Deutsch: ein Zug hat sich im Schnee festgefahren, südlicher Teil Minnesotas, USA, 1881. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

10 thoughts on “Steroids, sleeplessness and snow, snow, snow

  1. Glad you made it there and back safely. It’s funny I should read this post today as it’s below zero for a high where I am. People around here love talking about the weather too… easier than talking about cancer! Also, I grew up in MN and only moved to WI a few years ago. This neck of the woods does have a reputation of sorts… Good luck ongoing. Don’t you just hate it when you can’t sleep at night? I also found steroids made me very moody, but on a very predictable schedule, so eventually others could be ready! ha. Take care.

    Like

  2. Dad *hates* the steroids! He gets ’em the day of chemo and can’t sleep that night despite being physically exhausted!! You are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. Stay positive and keep warm! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Ascent Complete! | FEC-THis

    • All done – hurrah! I definitely could have done with your hat complete with ear flaps today. Even with my woolly hat my head was freezing. I thought the Minnesota photo was amazing too – so much phenomenal infrastructure and engineering work took place during that century and it looks like they managed to contend with much worse conditions that those that brought my country to a halt today!

      Like

  4. I pray you get there, make it safely, and that all goes well. Were I live, a few inches of snow stops just about everything. So I can relate. More importantly, hurry (safely) to chemo so you can get back to us!

    Like

    • Thank you Glorious – I’ve been there, done it and arrived home safely with some extra drugs instead of a T-shirt. I think it might be a fair trade 🙂 Thank you so much for your support, I very much appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

